UNC CSEEES faculty are distinguished in research, teaching, service and professional activities. Students have the opportunity to engage with more than 30 affiliate faculty in departments including Geography, Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures, History, Music and Political Science. Additionally, students have access to faculty and course offerings at our partner institution, Duke University. Following is a list of affiliated faculty by department.


DEPARTMENT OF ANTHROPOLOGY

Rivkin-Fish, Michele mrfish@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor and Associate Chair
Field: Reproductive politics; practices with transformations of state and citizenship; women’s health in post-Soviet Russia

Sorensen, Mark | msorensen@unc.edu

Associate Professor
Field: Biological anthropology; health and culture change; adaptability; energetics; nutrition; Russia; Siberia

Tomášková, Silvia | tomas@unc.edu

Professor
Field: Archaeology; gender and science; archaeology and nationalism; science and politics; prehistoric art; shamanism; Eastern and Central Europe; Siberia; South Africa


DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

Conway, Patrick patrick_conway@unc.edu

Professor and Chair
Field: International economics and economic development; international aspects of transition

Peter, Klara kpeter@unc.edu

Assistant Professor
Field: Comparative economics; labor economics; Russian economy

Rosefielde, Steven | stevenr@email.unc.edu

Professor
Field: Comparative economic systems; economic systems and global security research with the American, Russian, Swedish, Finnish and Japanese governments


DEPARTMENT OF GEOGRAPHY

Pickles, John | jpickles@unc.edu

Earl N. Phillips Distinguished Professor of International Studies
Field: Globalization; economic geography; regional development; post-socialism; social and cultural theory; counter-cartographies


DEPARTMENT OF GERMANIC AND SLAVIC LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES

Lapushin, Radislav | lapushin@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor
Field: Chekhov; Russian Literature — from the 19th century to now; Russian literature on stage and screen; Soviet poetry

Magomedova, Eleonora | emagomed@unc.edu

Senior Lecturer; Director of Russian Language Instruction and Conversation
Field: Russian language; Russian literature of the early 20th century

Pichova, Hana | pichova@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor
Field: Twentieth century Czech and Russian prose

Reese, Kevin | kreese@email.unc.edu

Lecturer
Field: 20th-century Russian/Soviet literature; Soviet science fiction; science and mathematics in literature; Russian poetry and versification

Shvabrin, Stanislav | shvabrin@email.unc.edu

Assistant Professor
Field: Comparative literary studies; literature and culture of Russian diasporas; Soviet “Internal Emigration”; poetry and poetics; intertextuality; translation studies; poetics and politics of national memory

Wampuszyc, Ewa | ewamp@email.unc.edu

Assistant Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Field: 19th and 20th century Polish Literature and Culture; literature, topography, spatial turn; visual studies (photography, newsreels, film); cultural and economic capital in literature and film; Polish language pedagog


CURRICULUM IN GLOBAL STUDIES

Johnson, Erica | ericaj@email.unc.edu

Lecturer; Director of Graduate Studies
Field: Comparative politics; political economy; focus in Post-Soviet state-society relations

Weiler, Jonathan | jweiler@email.unc.edu 

Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Field: Comparative politics; human rights; Russian and Eastern European studies; American political behavior; global development


DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

Auerbach, Karenkauerbach@unc.edu

Assistant Professor; Stuart E. Eizenstat Fellow
Field: Social history of Polish Jews in the nineteenth and twentieth century, especially issues relating to Jewish integration; urban life; the evolution of Polish Jewish identifications

Bryant, Chad | bryantc@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
Field: Central and Eastern Europe; urban history; nationalism

McReynolds, Louise | louisem@email.unc.edu

Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor; Associate Department Chair
Field: Imperial Russia, popular culture and cultural studies; development of mass communications and leisure-time activities and how these helped to shape identities in the nineteenth century; film history and theory; archaeology

Morgan, Michael | morgan@unc.edu

Assistant Professor
Field: Modern international history and the history of human rights; Cold War history; origins of the 1975 Helsinki Final Act

Raleigh, Donald J. | djr@email.unc.edu

Jay Richard Judson Distinguished Professor, CSEEES Director
Field: 20th-century Russian political, social, and cultural history; modern Eastern Europe; Russian Revolution and Civil War; Soviet historical writing; oral history; Brezhnev era; biography as a historical genre

Tasar, Eren | etasar@email.unc.edu

Assistant Professor
Field: Central Asia; institutions; Islam; religion and politics; social history; the Soviet Union


DEPARTMENT OF LINGUISTICS

Pertsova, Katya pertsova@email.unc.edu

Assistant Professor; Honors Advisor
Field: Morphology; morpho-phonology; linguistic categorization; models of morphological and phonological learning; mental lexicon; Russian

DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC

Bohlman, Andrea | abohlman@email.unc.edu

Assistant Professor
Field: Music and sound in Eastern Europe; Music and politics; Political action and music in late 20th-century Poland; History of sound recording


DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

Jenkins, Robert M.rjenkins@email.unc.edu

Senior Lecturer
Field: International organizations; states and nationalism; ethnic conflict; education

Robertson, Graeme | graeme@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor
Field: Russian politics; labor and contentious politics; development of interest representation

Vachudova, Milada | vachudov@email.unc.edu

Associate Professor
Field: Democratization of post-communist Europe; enlargement of the European Union; impact of international actors on domestic politics


DEPARTMENT OF WOMEN’S AND GENDER STUDIES

Tomášková, Silvia | tomas@unc.edu

Professor and Chair
Field: Archaeology; gender and science; archaeology and nationalism; science and politics; prehistoric art; shamanism; Eastern and Central Europe; Siberia; South Africa


SLAVIC & EAST EUROPEAN RESOURCES

Tolpygo, Kirill | ktolpygo@email.unc.edu

University Library; Slavic & East European Resources


INSTITUTE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

McNelis, David | mcnelis@unc.edu

Director, Center for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economic Development; Research Professor Emeritus
Field: International conventional, alternative and nuclear energy systems and technology; nuclear fuel cycle; nuclear non proliferation and transmutation


EMERITI FACULTY